Majors and Minors

At Cornell, students are accepted into fields of study.  Within each field are major subjects and areas of concentration.  A major, like its undergraduate cousin, is a focused subject area where a student will conduct his or her research or scholarship.  Concentrations are a subset within the major subject. Minor subjects are secondary areas of research.  Some fields offer minor subjects only.

Determining Your Major and Minor Subject Requirements

Master’s degree student choose one major and one minor subject. Doctoral candidates choose one major and two minor subjects of study, although some fields have permission from the General Committee to require only one major and one minor subject. Faculty members are picked from these approved subjects to form a “Special Committee.”