Over 50 Students Receive NSF Graduate Fellowships

McGraw Tower, Uris Library and Ho Plaza in fall, shot from Barnes Hall.

November 7, 2022

By Katya Hrichak

Fifty-five Cornell graduate students have been selected as 2022 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP) fellows. These new fellows join Cornell’s community of over 200 current fellows.

The NSF offers approximately 2,000 fellowships per year to research-based master’s and doctoral students pursuing study in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and math disciplines at accredited U.S. institutions. For the 2022 competition, the NSF received over 12,000 applications.

“We are incredibly proud of and excited about the number of successful Cornell NSF GRFP applicants,” said Holly Boulia, director of fellowships in the Graduate School. “In my time at Cornell, this is the largest class of new fellows I’ve seen in one year.”

As part of the five-year fellowship, students receive three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000. Fellows’ institutions receive a cost of education allowance of $12,000.

“Receiving this fellowship inspires me even more to utilize all the resources that I am lucky enough to have,” said Ambika Pachaury, a biomedical engineering doctoral student advised by Susan Daniel. “It validates my reason for pursuing science and, at the same time, solidifies my determination to be the best scientist I can be.”

Olivia Paschall, a doctoral student in geological sciences advised by Rowena Lohman, appreciates the opportunities the fellowship provides for her research. Having secured her own funding, she now feels freer to pursue her research interests.

“This fellowship puts me on a great track to become a successful and independent researcher throughout my graduate studies,” said Paschall.

Without the time commitment of an assistantship, recipients also look forward to using their time to give back. For plant biology doctoral student Byron Rusnak, who is advised by Adrienne Roeder, this will take the form of working with the Weill Institute DEI Committee and Qgrads, Cornell’s LGBTQIA+ graduate student association. Beatrys Rodrigues, a doctoral student in communication advised by Katherine Sender, looks forward to having time to mentor others and dedicate time to the public communication of her research.

“Our students are making positive impacts that reverberate across all of Cornell and into our communities,” said Kathryn J. Boor, dean of the Graduate School and vice provost for graduate education. “We are so proud to recognize the achievements and potential of our NSF Graduate Research Fellows.”

2022 NSF GRFP Recipients:

  • Iman Ali, anthropology
  • Tyler Ball, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Anna Barth, physics
  • Lela Bones, biomedical engineering
  • Rhasaan Bovell, biomedical and biological sciences
  • Amy Bracken, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Arianna Broad, biochemistry, molecular and cell biology
  • Kirstan Brodie, psychology
  • Chloe Cho, entomology
  • Ilexis Chu-Jacoby, horticulture
  • Nicholas Corso, astronomy and space sciences
  • Annika Diaz, biomedical and biological sciences
  • Reagan Dreiling, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Matthew Duggan, natural resources and the environment
  • Andrea Gomez-Patron, geological sciences
  • Jacob Harris, government
  • Robert Hawkins, biomedical engineering
  • Samuel Herr, plant breeding
  • Sierra Hicks, systems engineering
  • Matthew Hoffman, electrical and computer engineering
  • Rachel Honigsberg, biomedical engineering
  • Jeremiah James, biomedical engineering
  • Lucy Jiang, computer science
  • Kayla Jones, policy analysis and management
  • Elya Kahndahari, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Fnu Karan Kumar, physics
  • Samantha Kraus, biomedical engineering
  • Emily Lopez, applied mathematics
  • Rebecca McCabe, mechanical engineering
  • Sarah Milliron, psychology
  • John Morris, computer science
  • Kayleigh Morrison, biomedical and biological sciences
  • Rajiv Movva, computer science
  • Kayden Nasworthy, natural resources and the environment
  • Ambika Pachaury, biomedical engineering
  • Olivia Paschall, geological sciences
  • Jacob Pelster, mechanical engineering
  • Luis Perez, mathematics
  • Kylie Persson, biomedical engineering
  • Naomi Pieczulewski, materials science and engineering
  • Leslie Radosevich, chemical engineering
  • Coulter Ralston, biomedical engineering
  • Noam Ringach, computer science
  • Beatrys Rodrigues, communication
  • Sylvana Ross, entomology
  • Byron Rusnak, plant biology
  • Kayla Russo, geological sciences
  • Quynh Sam, materials science and engineering
  • Joshua Scott, food science and technology
  • Andrew Wei, economics
  • Andrew Willhelm, electrical and computer engineering
  • Natalie Williams, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Wyomia Williamson, archaeology
  • Frederick Xu, genetics, genomics, and development
  • Samson Zacate, chemistry and chemical biology